Unlike many other states, Kansas has no statewide licensing board and does not issue massage therapist licenses for the state. Each city in Kansas has license criteria to follow to obtain a license to practice as a massage therapist in that city.
What are the requirements to become a license massage therapist?
To qualify for licensure, the person must meet the following basic requirements: (1) at least 18 years of age or has received a high school diploma or graduate equivalency diploma; (2) has completed a course of study at a recognized massage school or has completed an apprenticeship program that meets standards approved …
Do you need a license to massage in Missouri?
Massage therapists practicing in Missouri must be licensed by the Missouri Board of Therapeutic Massage before practicing in this state. The board began licensing massage therapists in Missouri in 1998.
Do you need a license to be a massage therapist in Texas?
Following your education in the profession of massage therapy, you will need to pass either the NCETMB or the MBLEx national certification examination. The state can then issue a massage therapist license and you can be employed as a Licensed Massage Therapist in Texas.
Do you need a license to practice massage therapy in Indiana?
If you’re ready to move into your career as a massage therapist in Indiana, you must register with the Indiana State Board of Massage Therapy. The registration fee is $100. Once you are registered, you must receive licensure by the Board. If you do not register, you will be working illegally and can receive a fine.
How long does it take to be a licensed massage therapist in Missouri?
Potential licensees must complete at least 500 hours of coursework at an approved massage therapy school in Missouri or document 500 hours of mentorship or apprenticeship with an approved provider in the state.
Do you need a license to practice Reiki in Iowa?
Reiki is a complete healing method in itself and also works well with other healing systems. It can be practiced in Iowa as a healing method with no further license required.
How much does it cost to take the MBLEx?
What is the fee to take the MBLEx? Your application fee of $265 will be processed upon submission of the application. What is the fee if I have to retake the MBLEx? Should you need to retake the MBLEx, it will cost $265.
Do I need a license to practice massage in California?
The State of California does not license the massage profession. The California Massage Therapy Council, a private non-profit corporation, issues voluntary certifications to massage professionals that meet the requirements in the Massage Therapy Act. CAMTC Certification is voluntary.
Can you practice relaxation massage without a license in Ohio?
“Right now, if they’re going to do any kind of treatment, you have to be a licensed massage therapist. If you’re doing relaxation, you do not have to.” According to leaders in the industry, many unlicensed establishments are tied to human trafficking.
Is massage legal in Texas?
Massage Therapists Require License
Before you can work as a massage therapist in Texas, you must obtain a license. A license is also required if you want to teach massage therapy, operate a massage school or operate a massage establishment.